Hello everyone!

Welcome to my KnitCrate unboxing and review video archives.  Here you’ll find all of my videos from the three years I was receiving the KnitCrate yarn subscription.  

Read all about my experience with the KnitCrate subscription here.

Each month, KnitCrate sends subscribers a curated package of exclusive, hand-dyed yarns and crochet / knit patterns.  The yarns are always top-quality and the patterns are created by talented designers, designed specifically for the featured yarns.

If you’re interested in learning more about KnitCrate, be sure to check out my Ultimate Guide to the KnitCrate Yarn Subscription.  In this guide, I cover everything you need to know about KnitCrate, from how it works to what you can expect in your monthly package.

I absolutely loved my time as a KnitCrate subscriber and I’m so happy to be able to share these videos with you. I hope you enjoy them!

P.S. If you’re interested in trying out the KnitCrate subscription for yourself, be sure to use the coupon code YAYFORYARN20 to get 20% off your first month!

FYI: I am a KnitCrate Affiliate, which means KnitCrate sent me their yarn subscription boxes in exchange for my honest review.  It also means I may receive a commission at no cost to you if you make a purchase through one of my affiliate links or use my exclusive coupon code.  See my affiliate disclosure here.

I have thoroughly enjoyed every crate that I have received, and I only promote high-quality products that I personally use and love.  All opinions stated are my own.  Thanks for visiting Yay For Yarn!

May 2021 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Happy Little Skeins

Yarn: Audine Wools Chill in Let’s Get Crazy

Fiber: Suri Alpaca and Cashmere

Weight: Worsted Weight

Extras: Handmade Stitch Markers

Patterns: Arcade Slouch Hat, Fallen Cowl, Petal Socks, Suzy’s Bloom Socks

March / April 2021 KnitCrate Unboxing

Yarn: Vidalana Celestial / Audine Wools Bloom (a chainette yarn)

Fiber: Alpaca and Tencel / Alpaca, Silk, and Camel

Weight: Worsted Weight / DK Weight

Extras: Yarn Decal for your Car, Flower Decals

Patterns: Laptop Sleeve, Rising Mist Cowl, Compose SocksGrass is Greener SocksPretty Petals Bag, Foliole Shawl, Fireside Socks, Bright Side of the Moon Socks

February 2021 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Unwind

Yarn: Audine Wools Calm

Fiber: Wool, Mohair, and Silk

Weight: DK Weight

Extras: Retractable Measuring Tape

Patterns: Overnight Twist Cowl, Restful Fingerless Mitts, Trellis Socks, Shooting Stars Socks

January 2021 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Shadows

Yarn: Audine Wools Haze

Fiber: Superwash Merino Wool, Kid Mohair, and Silk

Weight: Bulky Weight

Extras: Set of Gift Labels

Patterns: No-Count Cozy Cowl, Cabled Hat, Flurry Feeling Socks, Wright’s Shadow Socks

December 2020 KnitCrate Unboxing

Yarn: Audine Wools Twinkle DK

Fiber: Merino Wool, Cashmere, and Stellina

Weight: DK Weight

Extras: Purple Cinch Backpack

Patterns: Snowfall Scarf, Woodstock Shawl, Centered Socks, Perfect RanksNostalgia Vest, Lavender Purls Sweater

November 2020 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Colorwork

Yarn: Vidalana Ambient Worsted, Neutral Palette

Fiber: Peruvian Highland Wool

Weight: Worsted Weight

Extras: Pen with Mini Flashlight

Patterns: Veining Beanie, Growth Ring Baby Sweater, November Rain, Sensible Socks, Wave Pulse Bag, Leonardo Hat

October 2020 KnitCrate Unboxing

Yarn: URU.YARN Chonk in Porcelain

Fiber: Merino Wool and Peruvian Pima Cotton

Weight: Super Bulky Weight

Extras: Handmade Stitch Marker

Patterns: Overcast Cowl, Cozy Kerchief, Twist Socks, Fizzy Peach Socks

September 2020 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Paradisio

Yarn: Audine Wools Sleek in Unwind

Fiber: Baby Alpaca, Fine Merino Wool, and Mulberry Silk

Weight: Worsted Weight

Extras: Glow-In-The-Dark Stitch Marker

Patterns: Valentina Mitts, Cheerful Scarf and Mitts, Serendipitous Socks, Puffy Socks

August 2020 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Vividarium

Yarn: Vidalana Linen Jewel in Oasis

Fiber: Superwash Merino Wool, Linen, and Silk

Weight: Fingering Weight

Extras: KnitCrate Coaster

Patterns: Pier CardiganSimple Summer ShrugCactus Flower SocksSun Surf Socks

July 2020 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Color Splash

Yarn: URU.Yarn Cotton Basic in Stardust

Fiber: Organic Pima Cotton

Weight: DK Weight

Extras: Tunisian Crochet Hook

Patterns: Sanctuary Crochet Shawl, Sanctuary Knit Shawl, Summer Lines Shawlette, Sparkle Pop Socks, Cherry-Stem Lace Socks

I used this yarn for my UltraViolet Tee knitting pattern.

June 2020 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Getaway

Yarn: Audine Wools Interlock (a chainette yarn) in Beaches

Fiber: Cotton / Linen / Lyocell / Nylon blend (Lyocell is a type of rayon)

Weight: Sport Weight

Extras: Set of Straight Pins

Patterns: Getaway Shawl, Adventure Is Out There Tote, Thunder & Lightning Socks, Ribbellini Socks

May 2020 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Blank Canvas (this was a dye-your-own-yarn kit due to yarn mills having to temporarily close)

Yarn: Nice and Round base, which I dyed at home with the included Kool-Aid packets

Fiber: Superwash Merino Wool

Weight: Fingering Weight

Extras: Set of sticky notes

Tutorial for how I hand-dyed my yarn here

April 2020 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Luminous

Yarn: URU.Yarns Sugared Sport in Diamond

Fiber: Superwash Merino Wool, Nylon, and Stellina

Weight: Sport Weight

Extras: Packet of Soak Wash

Patterns: Net Result Top, Mic Drop Top, Crisscrossed Socks, Hearth Socks

March 2020 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Wanderings

Yarn: La Brebis Light Alpaca in Dogwood Berry

Fiber: Baby Alpaca

Weight: Fingering Weight

Extras: Point Protectors for knitting needles, locking plastic Stitch Markers

Patterns: Seashell Capelet, Decumani Hat & Cowl, Heartleaf Socks, Rhythmic Ramblings Socks

February 2020 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Once Upon A Yarn

Yarn: Audine Wools Shine Sport in Sky

Fiber: Superwash Merino Wool and Tencel

Weight: Sport Weight

Extras: Handmade Floral Button

Patterns: Nora Toque and Fingerless Gloves, Sand Dunes Hat and Handwarmers, Cloudchaser Socks, Melon Sorbet Socks, Dreamscape Scarf

January 2020 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Citrine

Yarn: Knitologie Merino Worsted in Concrete Jungle & Bushwick

Fiber: Superwash Merino Wool

Weight: Worsted Weight

Extras: Tiny Knitted Hat

Patterns: Inbound Cowl, Upside-Down Cowl, Gemology Socks, Blue Quartz Socks.

November / December 2019 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Beneath the Waves / Greenery

Yarn: Knitologie Glowing Worsted in Shoreline / Vidalana Lofti DK (a chainette yarn)

Fiber: Merino Wool, Alpaca, and Silk / Merino Wool, Organic Cotton, and Baby Alpaca

Weight: Worsted Weight / DK Weight

Extras: KnitCrate Black & White Logo Pin / Tea Sampler

Patterns: Too many to list

September / October 2019 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Prism / Journey to Peru

Yarn: URU Yarn’s Silk DK in Enlightened / Vidalana Ascendance in Ancient Ruin

Fiber: Merino Wool and Silk / Peruvian Highland Wool

Weight: DK Weight / Sport to Worsted Weight

Extras: KnitCrate Rainbow Logo Pin / Handmade Stitch Marker

Patterns: Too many to list

August 2019 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Take Wing

Yarn: Knitologie Worsted in Kestrel

Fiber: Superwash Merino Wool

Weight: Worsted Weight

Extras: KnitCrate Stickers

Patterns: Alpine Legwarmers by Ashlea Konecny, Eklutna Lakeside Shawl by Mary Dickerson, Plumage Socks by Kim Driggs, Birds of a Feather Socks by Abbey Swanson

I used this yarn in my Twisted Earwarmer Crochet Pattern.

July 2019 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Circus Circus

Yarn: Knitologie Glowing Worsted in Pachyderm

Fiber: Superwash Merino Wool, Silk, and Baby Alpaca

Weight: Worsted Weight

Extras: Elephant Stitch Marker

Patterns: Risley Cowl by Katie Clary, Ringleader Mitts by Hannah Theissen, Vargas Socks by Renate Kamm, After Show Slippers by Demetra Bogri

June 2019 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Calico

Yarn: Vidalana Aloft in Tiger Lily

Fiber: Merino Wool, Baby Alpaca, and Organic Cotton (this is a chainette yarn)

Weight: DK Weight

Extras: Retractable Measuring Tape

Patterns: Golden Afternoon Scarf by Susan Lowman, Rows of Lavender Shawl by Susan Lowman, Whimsical Socks by Kay Litton, Alma Shawl, Fruit Picnic Poncho, and Fruit Picnic Wrap, by Darya Reznik.

May 2019 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Farmer’s Market

Yarn: Knitologie Cozy Sock in Citrus Squeeze

Fiber: Merino Wool, Nylon, and Cashmere

Weight: Fingering Weight

Extras: Handmade Stitch Marker, Ladybug Buttons

Patterns: Magic Socks by Lilia Vanini, Squeezed Citrus Socks by Sarah Jordan, Dancing Butterfly by Cynthia Levy, Jounce Cowl by Sarah Jordan, Stratified Sock by Kristy Howell.

April 2019 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Entomology

Yarn: Audine Wools Sigh DK in Ladybug

Fiber: Merino Wool and Cashmere

Weight: DK Weight

Patterns: Chrysalis Stole by Liliana Buce-Chmelko, Canopy Shawl by Destiny Meyer, Undergrass Socks by Stephanie Voyer, Hens & Chicks Shawl and Caterpillar Tracks Cowl, by Dallas Ann Prentice

March 2019 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Whisper

Yarn: Knitologie Sheen in Titmouse

Fiber: Merino Wool, Silk, and Cashmere

Weight: Fingering Weight

Extra: “Make Something Today” zippered project pouch

Patterns: Solennelle Shawl by Kendall Timko, Honeycomb Shawl by Bonnie Barker, Birdseed Hat by Hannah Theissen, Penelope Headband and Scarf by Lilia Vanini, Treeometry Socks by Tracy Seamster, Magamo Shawl by Irina Pi, Hibari Handwarmers and Hibari Hat, also by Irina Pi, Leaf Dance Socks by Tisserin Coquet

I used this yarn to make the fingering weight version of my Easiest Knitted Hat Knitting Pattern.

February 2019 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Good Vibes Only

Yarn: Audine Wools Halo DK in Electric Abalone

Fiber: Alpaca, Merino Wool, and Nylon

Weight: DK Weight

Patterns: Belle Askew Shawl by Jen Hayes, Belita Shawl by Kiri Fitzgerald, Striped Lightning by Maeve Zana.

January 2019 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Sleepy New Year

Yarn: Vidalana Ambient Worsted

Fiber: Peruvian Highland Wool

Weight: Worsted Weight

Patterns: Embrace Muff by Tonya Bush, Shift Cowl by Jen Geigley), Winter Light Socks by Laura Fahlin Staker

December 2018 KnitCrate Unboxing

Yarn: Vidalana Heathered Chunky in Triple Lux

Fiber: Peruvian Highland Wool

Weight: Bulky Weight

Patterns: Snow Bonnet by Abbey Swanson, Breaks in the Lines Cowl by Tina Tse, Holiday Candy Socks by Myla Vayner. 

Extra: KnitCrate Logo Pin

I used this yarn to make my Breezy Morning Cowl Knitting Pattern.

November 2018 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Enchanted

Yarn: URU.YARN Sugared Worsted in Gilded

Fiber: Superwash Merino Wool, Nylon, and Stellina

Weight: Worsted Weight

Patterns: Fruitridge Scarf by Jen Dwyer, Twinkle Hat, Cowl, and Mitts by Sandi Rosner, Ribbons of Gratitude Socks by Mindy Vasil

October 2018 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Verdigris

Yarn: Halo DK in Mouse

Fiber: Alpaca, Merino Wool, and Nylon

Weight: DK Weight

Patterns: Several patterns were included

I designed my own pattern using this yarn.

September 2018 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Dash Dot Dash

Yarn: Vidalana Dream in Tapenade

Fiber: Superwash Merino Wool, Silk, and Cashmere

Weight: Sport Weight

Patterns: “Westwind” Shawl by Anne Podlesak, and the “Las Mananitas de Blanca” crocheted capelet by Cecilia Losada

I designed my own patterns using this yarn.

August 2018 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Indigo Glow

Yarn: URU Yarn Speckled Singles in Undertow

Fiber: Single-ply 100% Superwash Merino Wool

Weight: Fingering Weight

Patterns: Gullywasher Shawl by Carissa Browning, Caribbean Escape Wrap by Jennifer Dickerson

July 2018 KnitCrate Project

I made the Beach Ball Cowl by Virginia Sattler-Reimer from the July 2018 crate. I really liked the lace stitch pattern used in this project.

July 2018 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Modern Primary

Yarn: Knitologie Bouncy Worsted in Dashboard

Fiber: Superwash Merino Wool

Weight: Worsted Weight

Patterns: Beach Ball Cowl by Virginia Sattler-Reimer, Crochet Yoga Socks by Laura Bain

June 2018 KnitCrate Project

I made the Minty Fresh Knitted Shawl by Taiga Hilliard from the June 2018 crate. This project was so much fun to knit, and I am thrilled with how it turned out.

June 2018 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Ice Scream

Yarn: Vidalana Softest Sock in Chewies

Fiber: Superwash Merino Wool, Nylon, and Cashmere

Patterns: Lemoncello Crochet Poncho by Kalurah Hudson, Minty Fresh Knitted Shawl by Taiga Hilliard

May 2018 KnitCrate Unboxing

Theme: Contemporary

Yarn: “La Brebis Marled Sock” in Gray Twist

Fiber: Peruvian Highland wool, Merino, and Nylon

Patterns: Cabled Clutch by Marie Segares, Daxis Shawl by Pariser Landluft